TheLastDaughter_750JessyFergusonI’m toe to toe and face to face with promotion and social media. October 8th thru October 11th, The Last Daughter, my romantic suspensewill be FREE on Amazon.

http://tinyurl.com/kzmoxzz

I hope you’ll help me spread the word because I find promotion scarier than that cursed doll I wrote about.

Before my book hit Amazon, before I actually had to indulge in this marketing game, I visualized being witty on Twitter, charming on Facebook, intelligent on Goodreads and professional on LinkedIn. I networked with the best of ’em–but only in my mind. Now, I’m frozen stiff, locked in place as if wearing a couple of cement blocks. My mind is blank. Look closely and you might catch a “social shiver” making its way down my spine.

I’ve read the how-to articles sharing tips and info. I’ve tried to educate myself so that I look like a pro but honestly, give me a cursed doll any old day of the week. So while I stare blankly at the screen, I thought you might enjoy some of my favorite social media quotes. And don’t forget to download The Last Daughter. If you read it, I hope you’ll review it on Amazon, and let me know which is scarier: the doll named Tiva, Rayna’s family or my cutie-pie hero who forgets to comb his hair.

                                    My Favorite Social Media Quotes

 Focus on how to be social, not on how to do social. ~Jay Baer, Convince & Convert

All one needs is a computer, a network connection, and a bright spark of initiative and creativity to join the economy. ~Don Tapscott, dontapscott.com

Privacy is dead, and social media hold the smoking gun. ~Pete Cashmore, Mashable CEO

Humans like to know about the good, the bad, and the ugly side of people, places, and situations, as well as to share this information with others, often as quickly as possible. ~Lon Safko and David Brake, Authors of “The Social Media Bible”

Social media takes time and careful, strategic thought. It doesn’t happen by accident. ~Brian E. Boyd Sr., Social Media for the Executive

How can you squander even one more day not taking advantage of the greatest shifts of our generation? How dare you settle for less when the world has made it so easy for you to be remarkable? ~Seth Godin, Seth’s Blog

Networking is not about hunting. It is about farming. It’s about cultivating relationships. Don’t engage in ‘premature solicitation’. You’ll be a better networker if you remember that. ~Dr. Ivan Misner, NY bestselling author & founder of BNI

Don’t say anything online that you wouldn’t want plastered on a billboard with your face on it. – Erin Bury, Sprouter community manager

Here’s the one that speaks loudest to me:JessicaFerguson

Social media is just a buzzword until you come up with a plan. – Unknown

Yep, that last one says it all. How do you conquer the social media heebie jeebies?

