Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

…that offers peace, enlightenment, and ideas when you write, read, or reflect?
There was a time, in my youth, when I found my peace in the boughs of an apricot tree in the backyard. I spent more hours in that tree than in the house. At least that’s what my mother said along with ‘get out of that tree’. It was my haven for thinking, reading, writing, and dreaming.
Light Streaming Through the Crown of a TreeI could shimmy up that tree like a squirrel with a cheek full of nuts. I carried a book, a spiral notebook with a pen stuck in the wiring, a snack, and a Dr. Pepper. Closing my eyes now I can feel the bark, hear the New Mexico breeze in the leaves, and eat warm apricots when they ripened. In the spring my perch was scented with lilacs, honeysuckle and roses. In the winter I was inspired by the barrenness.
 Any school assignments involving writing were welcomed by me. Most of my friends moaned and groaned about them. I never considered writing a book back then. Would I have started writing before I became disabled if I had given it more thought? Who knows? It doesn’t matter. I do know the words I scribbled in those spiral notebooks came straight from the heart of a teenage girl. It met my needs.
Nowadays, I can’t climb a tree. I wish I could. I do lie on the grass and watch the clouds. Or, wish on stars at night. I can also take myself away in a rocking chair on my back porch. The mountains always, without fail, inspire me. Words flow when I am in the mountains. I’ve had visits from the “muse” sitting on the porch of a rented cabin in the Smoky Mountains, the side of the road at a roadside park in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Parkway, at the Biltmore in Asheville, NC, or the high desert of New Mexico.
Where do you find your words? Where do your books take root? Where do you dream? Please share . . .
Winona Bennett Cross, Author
“Dianne’s Destiny” Tales of the Scrimshaw Doll Series
publication date and cover pending.
‘Can a woman return to the home and sweetheart she left as a girl? Can she receive the forgiveness she desires? Can a horse heal the wounds of the past and present?
Visit me at:
http://winonacross.blogspot.com  ‘Wandering and Wondering with Words’
Winona B. Cross, Author on Facebook
 
