I can say with one hundred percent certainty that…I’m not sure. I do believe that we are surrounded by things we can’t explain.

    The bridge that appears in my story The Bone Bride was a bridge right here in the little town of Anadarko. Legend has it that Jeremiah hung himself from the original bridge. I know plenty of people who had odd experiences while driving across, or fishing beneath it.

    Local legend says if you call Jeremiah’s name three times, he’ll answer. I’ve never tried it.

    My husband spent most of his adult life in law enforcement and earned a sixth degree black belt in martial arts. He’s not a man who scares easy but he hated driving across the bridge at night. He talks about seeing indistinct figures that ran across the bridge, and on one occasion an animal hanging from a tree near the end of the bridge. When he stopped the car and got out to look, there was nothing there.

    I recall one night when we were driving across the bridge on our way home. I thought I saw a white blur scurry down the little embankment as we approached. I made a joking comment about Bigfoot (another legend in this area.) My husband kept his hands on the steering wheel and his eyes forward. “I’m not looking,” he said.

    To the best of my knowledge there was only one verified death in association with the bridge. I asked the owner of the newspaper here in town and was told that a body had been found frozen to death under the bridge.

    Back in 1994 the original bridge collapsed. Thankfully no one was killed. Today a new bridge stands in its place. I haven’t heard any stories about the new one.  

    So, are curses real? Let me know what you think.

    In the meantime…they make for some wonderful fiction.

