Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m Calisa Rhose, author of Home. For my interview I had to channel back to 1967 to find, my hero, Sam Callahan’s mother. You see, she kind of went a little loopy in my book and I’m going to try to find out a little more for you. What really happened to Dr. Callahan? Did Rose cause his demise?

Me: Hello, Mrs. Callahan. I remembered you favor fresh iced tea with sugar. I hope it’s to your liking.

Mrs. C: It’s refreshing, Calisa. Thank you. Please, call me Mrs. C. Everybody does.

Me: Fine. I would like to begin with why you didn’t want Sam to date Poppy. She’s a fun girl he obviously adores.

Mrs. C: He does, at that. But you see, she and her mother are gypsy and have odd beliefs Sam wasn’t raised to believe in. I was trying to protect my only child from evil.

Me: Evil? What sort of evil did you imagine Poppy and her mother were involved in?

Mrs. C: All I know is my cousin told me about that doll! She said it was cursed and if I let it go the curse would hurt me. And it did. I couldn’t allow that curse to hurt Sam through the daughter of the woman who has it.

Me: How did it hurt you, what is the curse?

Mrs. C: I don’t remember exactly, but my cousin told me whoever betrays the doll will suffer…and I have since I let Dr. Callahan sell the wretched thing.

Me: Yes, I know he died. I’m so sorry about that. What happened to him?

Mrs. C: Well…first it was innocuous things that happened. The plumbing messed up, the television went out and then… And then–the car started messing up. That was the beginning of the end. Oh, sure, Sam gave logical explanations for all those things and normally I’d be the first to agree it was just coincidences.

Me: But? You don’t believe that now?

Mrs. C: Not really. I know it sounds crazy, but all that stuff never happened until my Samuel sold my doll. One day he went to work on the car–that man was no mechanic, silly old fool–and the car fell on him. Sam says it was just a defective hoist, or jack or whatever that thing is called. I’m not so sure. It wasn’t very long after that when he fell dead. No rhyme or reason…except the doll.

Me: May I ask you if the doll was so terrible, why would you ask Sam to get it back?

Mrs. C: Isn’t it obvious? As long as the doll was in my possession no one got hurt.

Me: Sam and Poppy are so happy. Are you okay with Poppy’s mother having the doll now?

Mrs. C: It’s hard to let it go, but yes, I’m better about it since my son’s so content. I don’t like that the doll is still in town.

Me: That’s right, Henna, Poppy’s mother, has her now that Poppy doesn’t live at home anymore. Do you and Henna ever talk now that your kids are married?

Mrs. C: Well of course. We are going to be grandmothers together soon.

Me: And with that I congratulate you both and I’ll let you get back to enjoying life.

Mrs. C: Good bye, dear. *Such strange questions.*

I guess we really didn’t find out what happened to Dr. Callahan after all. But all is not hopeless. You can find Home at most major ebook outlets.

TAGLINE:

What could a gypsy and a Vietnam veteran have in common?

BLURB:

Silvertown’s outcast, Poppy Tippen, has loved football hero Sam “The Force” Callahan forever. But he never seemed to know she was alive. Now he’s home from the war and she suddenly finds herself comforting him from the demons of “that damn war.” Is his attention merely an escape from the haunting nightmares? Or does she hold the interest of the only man she’s ever truly loved?

Sam Callahan’s only solace from the war nightmares wrecking his life comes in the unlikely form of a gypsy girl with stigmas of her own. He’s known Poppy his entire life, but there’s something different about her now. Something special he desperately wants to hold on to. Can he convince her she’s the only thing he needs to put the past behind him?

