Tags

, , ,

 

Intro: I’m a scrimshaw doll. I was created for a child and cursed to protect a woman. I’ve been protecting those seeking true love well before 1716 when my story began being recorded. It all began with a gypsy man named Enzo and his wife Rosa, whom I was made in the memory of.

Currently: As you have no doubt seen through my travels thus far, my powers range greatly. But I don’t always deal in guts and glory. By which I mean, I don’t have to kill or murder. No. My next owner was very young when I came into her possession. Sixteen at that time. Such a sad situation, really. Her mother died within moments of her enlightening her daughter of my existence  (If I could shake my stiffened neck I would.)

In more contemporary times, I have found other methods to keep my present owners safe. In Malia Kane’s instance, I resorted to means that would, I hoped, teach the young bounders a lesson. After all, they were young as well. And everyone knows boys would be boys.

Perhaps you might find a small hint of the curse by learning the original title of The Color of Betrayal was Nose Job. Yes, yes. It’s not a very romantic title, is it? The committee opted to change it. However, the original title fit. You see, whenever someone betrayed my beloved Malia, suffice to say they had the misfortune to misstep, thus tripping and breaking their nose. So while breaking their nose was not so romantic or so absolutely gory, it proved effective enough for my purposes.

On the other side of that coin though was Malia’s fear in letting true love in her heart. But that’s what I was there for. And it worked—magically!

The Color of Betrayal is available through Amazon and The Wild Rose Press http://bit.ly/KFGIF1.

Luke Reiser has every intention of marrying Malia Kane, a difficult feat when she refuses to acknowledge his interest. When Malia’s grandmother asks for a doll left in his attic, Luke believes his luck has changed. He summons Malia to his office, but he doesn’t expect her reaction.

Malia doesn’t have time to do artwork for Luke’s company. She’s preparing for an art show to ease financial difficulties looming like a snuffer ready to extinguish a candle flame. But what she finds at Luke’s office is worse than bankruptcy—it’s that horrid doll bequeathed to her at her mother’s death. Malia has found out the hard way the curse breaks any would-be lover’s nose, and worse. Not wanting to risk injury to Luke, she takes the doll and runs.

Can an ancient doll bring the two together…or will Luke end up next in a long line of victims…with a broken nose as well as a broken heart?

Rating: Spicy
Page Count: 68
Word Count: 16631
978-1-61217-198-2 Digital

